Dangerous Goods

Also called hazardous materials

The right way or the high way

Our experts ensure your shipments comply with the United Nations' universal system for the classification, packaging, marking, and labelling of dangerous goods.

It is worth noticing that there may well be rules, regulations, or even strict requirements regarding packaging, labelling and how to separate different types of goods. Whether shipping companies or airlines, the operators might have additional requirements that must be considered and complied with.


The nine classes of dangerous goods – from explosives to miscellaneous

The first part of our dialogue is to understand exactly what you need to have transported and to which class the dangerous goods belongs. Then we need to determine quantity limits, packaging, labeling, documentation, and modes of transport.

Overall, there are nine classes of dangerous goods, which can be liquids, solids, or gasses.

The nine classes of dangerous goods are:

  • Class 1: Explosives
  • Class 2: Gases
  • Class 3: Flammable liquids
  • Class 4: Flammable solids and substances liable to spontaneously combust or emit flammable gasses
  • Class 5: Oxidizing agents & organic peroxides
  • Class 6: Toxins & infectious substances
  • Class 7: Radioactive material
  • Class 8: Corrosives
  • Class 9: Miscellaneous

Their classification depends on whether they are, e.g., explosive, radioactive, toxic or flammable – and, of course, how significant a hazard they represent.

Don't get lost in rules and regulations. Let us guide you.

We can assist with all necessary clearances, overflight permissions, and everything in between.

Follow us on

Get in touch

Allan Bracher

Lead Auditor & Dangerous Goods Expert

Email me